Many people in Illinois depend on their vehicles to get to work and other important places. However, when someone has their driver’s license suspended, it becomes illegal to drive a car. In Illinois, people can get their driver’s licenses suspended for many different reasons, such as driving drunk, failing to appear in court for a traffic ticket, and driving without insurance. If they still try to get behind the wheel of a car, they could face severe consequences.
Consequences of Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License
If a judge has suspended or revoked your driver’s license, you cannot legally drive a vehicle. If you do, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or felony offense, depending on the circumstances of your case. If this is your first time driving with a suspended license, you face a class A misdemeanor. You may be ordered to pay up to $2,500 in fines. You also face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of ten days and a maximum sentence of one year. However, some first-time offenders are able to receive court supervision instead of jail time.
If you are charged with driving without a license a second time, you face a Class 4 felony. A judge may sentence you to a minimum of 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service. You may have to pay up to $25,000 in fines. Your license will also be suspended for twice as long as your original suspension period. Additionally, your auto insurance company may cancel your coverage or increase your premiums.
Getting Your Driver’s License Back
There is a major difference betwen license suspension and revocation. If your license is suspended, the license is reinstated once the suspension period ends and you pay a reinstatement fee. To reinstate a revoked license, you will need to attend either a formal or informal Secretary of State hearing.
If your license was suspended or revoked, you may understandably be eager to get your license back. A driver’s license reinstatement lawyer can help you understand the best way to seek the restoration of your driving privileges.
Contact a McHenry County Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you have been arrested for driving with a suspended driver’s license, you should seek the help of a Crystal Lake, IL defense attorney. At Botto Gilbert Lancaster, PC, we understand how difficult it is to live your life without a license. We will defend you to the best of our ability and address all of your questions and concerns. Call us at 815-338-3838 to schedule a free consultation.