If your license has been revoked after a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) in Illinois, it can be a long and difficult process to get it back. Fortunately, there are steps you can take to increase your chances of getting your license reinstated. In this blog post, we will outline the steps you need to take to get your license back after a revocation in Illinois.
Set Up a Driver’s License Reinstatement Hearing
The first step in regaining your legal driving rights is to file a petition for driver’s license reinstatement with the Secretary of State’s office. It this is your first DUI offense, you will probably be required to attend an informal Secretary of State hearing. However, if you have been convicted of multiple DUIs or DUI causing a severe accident, you will have to attend a formal hearing. At the hearing, you will need to show that you have completed all required DUI education and treatment programs, as well as any other requirements that may have been imposed by the court. If the Secretary of State finds that you have met all the necessary requirements, your license may be reinstated.
Complete the Steps Required by Your Risk Classification
As part of the license reinstatement process, you will be asked to meet with an evaluator and undergo an evaluation called an Alcohol and Drug Uniform Report. The results of this evaluation will determine the next steps. If you are classified as “minimal risk,” you will need to attend 10 hours of DUI Risk Education classes where you will learn how to avoid reoffending in the future. Individuals classified as “moderate risk” must attend the 10 hours of classes as well as 12 hours of early intervention. “Significant risk” individuals must complete the DUI Risk Education classes and 20 hours of substance abuse treatment. “High risk” individuals must complete 75 hours of substance abuse treatment. Some high-risk individuals may need to go to inpatient treatment to qualify for license reinstatement. Participation in an ongoing care plan is often a requirement for moderate, significant, and high-risk individuals.
Demonstrate That You Will Not Reoffend
During your Secretary of State reinstatement hearing, your main goal is to prove that you have taken all of the required steps and that you will not drive under the influence again. Make sure you have completed the necessary classes and treatment programs and have the associated paperwork. You may also need additional evidence such as letters or documents proving your participation in Alcoholics Anonymous or similar support groups.
To maximize your chances of restoring your driver’s license, show up to your hearing on time, dress appropriately, and treat the hearing officer with respect. Answer questions honestly and politely. If everything goes well, you may be able to regain full driving privileges or receive a driving permit that restores partial driving privileges.
Contact Our Elgin Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyers
Getting your license back after a DUI is not easy. Kane County DUI defense lawyer Brian Mirandola understands what you are going through. He can help you take the required steps and advocate on your behalf throughout the reinstatement process. Call The Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola at 847-488-0889 for a free consultation.