In Illinois, you must stop for police when an officer gives you visual or audible signals directing you to stop your car. The signal given by the peace officer may be by hand, voice, siren, red or blue light. The officer must be in uniform. Further, the officer’s car must display flashing red or blue lights used along with a horn or siren to indicate it is an official police vehicle.
You can be charged with fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer if you willfully ignore such signals, increase your speed or turn off your lights. A first or second offense is a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail. The Secretary of State must also suspend your drivers license for up to 6 months for a first offense and up to 12 months for a second. A third or later violation becomes a Class 4 felony, punishable by 1 to 4 years in prison. See 625 ILCS 5/11-204.
If you are charged with fleeing or eluding, contact an experienced criminal or traffic law attorney immediately. An attorney can review your case for your best possible defense. As with most crimes, the state must prove all the elements of the offense beyond a reasonable doubt. Was the officer in uniform? Was it clear you were being stopped by aan official police car? Were you willfully ignoring a signal or simply looking for a safe place to pull over?
If you have questions about this or another related Illinois criminal or traffic matter, please contact Matt Keenan at 847-568-0160 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
(Besides Skokie, Matt Keenan also serves the communities of Arlington Heights, Chicago, Deerfield, Des Plaines, Evanston, Glenview, Morton Grove, Mount Prospect, Niles, Northbrook, Park Ridge, Rolling Meadows, Wilmette and Winnetka.)