McHenry County Driving on a Suspended License LawyerIf your license has been suspended or revoked, you should not be driving – period. Getting caught driving under suspension or revocation in Illinois is not just a traffic ticket or a fine. It is charged as at least a Class A misdemeanor, and you could go to jail for it. If your driving privileges were related to a DUI offense, or if you committed another offense while driving under suspension, the consequences are likely to be even more severe.

If you are being charged with driving on a suspended license, it is important that you take the matter seriously and seek out an aggressive legal advocate. More than your driving privileges are at stake in this matter.

What are the Consequences of Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in McHenry County?

Under normal circumstances, this offense is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of $2.500. Clearly, this is much more serious than a typical traffic violation.

If your license was suspended, you will have to restart your term of suspension. So, if your license was suspended for one year and you get caught driving eight months in, your license will stay suspended for one more full year. If your license had been revoked, however, a minimum of one year will be added to the revocation period, even if you were very close to reinstatement.

Causing an accident or committing another offense, like reckless driving, while under suspension will result in additional penalties. If you cause an accident and hurt someone, you will likely be charged with a felony, no matter the reason for the original suspension.

What if My Suspension or Revocation was Related to a DUI?

The consequences are even more serious if your license was suspended or revoked due to a DUI conviction. A first offense carries a minimum of ten days in jail or 240 hours of community service. A second offense will be charged as a Class 4 felony and could mean prison time up to three years and up to a $25,000 fine. The mandatory minimum becomes 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service. Any of these consequences will have a serious impact on your life.

Additional aggravating factors, such as if you injure someone or get another DUI while your license is already suspended, can result in felony convictions in addition to a much longer loss of driving privileges. Illinois courts take intoxicated driving seriously.

Contact a McHenry County License Suspension Attorney

If you have been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license, you will need an experienced Crystal Lake license suspension lawyer to fight for you to avoid jail time and long-term loss of driving privileges. Call Botto Gilbert Lancaster, PC, at 815-338-3838 to arrange a free consultation.

 

Source:

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=062500050K6-303

Read More