Friday, April 23, 2021

New website for JEB Uniform Trust and Estate Acts

The following information was provided by Prof. Thomas Gallanis (University of Iowa):

The Joint Editorial Board for Uniform Trust and Estate Acts has a new URL for its webpage (  The webpage also now has information about, and a list of the recipients of, the Richard Wellman Award.  The Wellman Award is named for Professor Richard V. Wellman, who was the Robert Cotton Alston Professor at the University of Georgia School of Law, where he taught from 1974 to 1990.  Previously he taught at his alma mater, the University of Michigan Law School, from 1954 to 1974.  Wellman served as a Uniform Law Commissioner for 35 years.  He was the Chief Reporter of the original Uniform Probate Code and served for many years as the executive director of the Joint Editorial Board for the Uniform Probate Code, which is now the JEB-UTEA.  The Wellman Award is given by the JEB-UTEA for outstanding contributions to uniform laws in trusts and estates. The recipients of the Wellman Award have been:

2005 – Robert M. Brucken
2006 – J. Pennington Straus (posthumously)
2008 – E. James Gamble (posthumously) and Eugene F. Scoles
2010 – Raymond H. Young
2013 – John H. Langbein and Lawrence W. Waggoner
2014 – Edward C. Halbach, Jr.
2016 – Malcolm A . Moore

Appointments and Honors, Estate Planning – Generally | Permalink


Post a comment