The Illinois criminal charge of battery, ILCS battery, is listed under 720 ILCS 5/12-3. The law says,

“(a) A person commits battery if he or she knowingly without legal justification by any means

(1) causes bodily harm to an individual or
(2) makes physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with an individual.”

720 ILCS 5/12-3.

Battery Misdemeanor

Battery in Illinois is a class A Misdemeanor. See the chart below to see the maximum jail time and fine for this battery misdemeanor.

Class Penalty Range Maximum Fine
A less than 1 year not to exceed $2,500
B not more than 6 mths not to exceed $1,500
C not more than 30 days not to exceed $1,500

No County Jail Credit

If a defendant is sentenced to county jail time for battery, he may not be entitled to “day to day” credit. This is also called the “good behavior allowance.”

“Good behavior allowance” means the number of days awarded in diminution of sentence as a reward for good behavior. 730 ILCS 130/2

“(1) a person who inflicted physical harm upon another person in committing the offense for which he is confined shall receive no good behavior allowance…” – 730 ILCS 130/3